Dungeon Master Assistance

A place to share thoughts and ideas about Dungeons and Dragons

D&D 5E – Time Tracking Tool


DM Tool for Tracking Time

Download your free copy here.

I have tried several different ways to keep track of time in a dungeon. Years ago I even wrote a “Time Tender” software program. I was thinking of getting a toy clock, or a broken clock that I could turn the hands on. Thinking of clocks, I came up with this simple idea, and it works! Download and print as many of these as you may need. The idea is that you use a pencil to mark off the time as your players explore the dungeon.


Each clockface represents one day. One sheet can track 4 days. The hours are marked around the sides. Midnight is at the bottom and Noon is at the top. There are 6 little boxes between each hour. Each box represents 10 minutes. I fill in each box as time passes in the adventure. I find this works well. I say it takes 10 minutes to search a room. I mark off 10 minutes after each combat for searching bodies, recover arrows, clean up, etc. Moving along a cooridor doesn’t take much time unless it is very long or they are being slow. I also mark time for other activities as well: one hour for a short rest, eight hours for a long rest, overland travel time, etc.

There is plenty of blank space to scribble notes.


6 responses to “D&D 5E – Time Tracking Tool

  1. static1st August 20, 2016 at 4:05 pm

    Brilliant! I should have thought of this years ago. Below the date, I simply write any major event(s) that occurred that day, like “poison begins to effect Marius”, “Carobb gets separated from group”, or “Delaney’s fever breaks”.
    Thanks for this, Ronny!

  2. Miztres August 20, 2016 at 9:40 pm

    Brilliant! Thanks again Ronny

Leave a Reply

